Lightning Pitch – Jo Fobbs

Honestly, I struggle with collaboration. I stray toward perfectionism far too often and falsely believe that my perspective is terminally unique, that something can only be done properly when it’s done in isolation. So, understandably, I winced at the mention of a group project. Nonetheless, I see this as an opportunity to grow out of my hermit shell, or at the very least, step out for a breath of fresh air. 

Research projects are like children, yet I’ve always kept mine in the house like they were an indoor cat. For the past four years, I’ve been developing Shattered Prisms, an art-based interactive learning environment centered on Black LGBTQ+ history. In this developing platform, I create analog collages depicting Black social movements and critiques of present day issues, and overlay them with interactive image maps. These image maps contain biographies of the historical figures depicted, as well as relevant essays, articles, videos, and other media. This is intended to highlight key figures within Black social movements whose contributions have been less recognized, particularly Black LGBTQ+ and women activists.


This project has been in infancy this entire time, in part because I’ve expected it to grow in isolation and secrecy, without the necessary technical knowledge, and have even tried to force it out into the world before it was ready. What I’ve failed to understand is that this child needs to be nurtured, surrounded by community, given limitless grace and allowed to develop at their own pace. With that in mind, I know there’s no way I’d be able to get this off the ground over the span of this course, but I’d love to work with anyone who has similar interests. So I’d like to take this opportunity to work on my technical and interpersonal skills, namely web development, visual design, listening, and networking. What connects everything I’ve said here is the core value of openness. To be open about my flaws and difficulties, to be open about a project I’ve been intent on hiding forever, and perhaps most importantly, to be open about what this final project looks like.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started